AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Award in Malawi

Home / AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Award in Malawi


The African Union and the Academy of sciences for the developing world commonly referred to as the AU-TWAS competition, is an annual competition managed by the National Commission for Science and Technology in Malawi. TWAS and the AU have signed agreement with NCST to offer support and to institute awards for young African scientists.

The awards are designed to recognize scientific excellence in their countries. In each participating country, two USD5,000-prizes will be awarded each year in the categories of:  Life and earth sciences, and Basic sciences, technology and innovation. Candidates eligible for the prizes should be no older than forty years of age at the time of winning the prize; hold at least a Master’s degree; have a good record of research publications in internationally recognized journals; be living and working in the Malawi for at least the previous three years.

Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.

The closing date for nominations is 30 June each year: Africa Scientific Renaissance Day.

A committee of eminent scientists in the country selects the prize winners.

NCST sends a complete profile of the selected nominees to TWAS, providing details on their achievements together with curriculum vitae and list of publications.

TWAS and the AU will approve the winners.

The prize is presented to the awardee(s) by the Minister of science and technology or Director General of NCST at a special ceremony held each year on 9 September: Africa Union Day.

The AU –TWAS Young Scientist National Award is one of the three categories under the African Union Scientific Awards Programme which are:-

  1. African Union, Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (AU-TWAS) Young Scientist National Award which is competed for by Malawians who are below the age of 40 years and is administered nationally by the National Commission for Science and Technology, the prize money of which is USD5,000 and that’s the one we have awarded our distinguished researcher, today;
  1. African Union Women Scientist Regional Award which is competed for by women in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region and this is administered  by SADC, the prize money of which is USD20,000 ;
  1. African Union Scientific Award, which accommodates all the African Scientists regardless of sex and age limit and is administered by the African Union Secretariat in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, with a prize money of USD100,000.

How to apply
Applicants should complete the Nomination Forms, providing details of their achievements together with Curriculum Vitae and a list of publications in internationally recognized journals, as required on the nomination forms.

The Nomination Forms and Poster can be accessed on

Download AU TWAS Nomination Form

Download Press Release

For any further enquiries, you may contact us through the following address:

The Director General
National Commission for Science and Technology
First Floor,
Lingadzi House, City Centre
Private Bag B303
Lilongwe 3

Attn: Chief Technology Transfer Officer
Deadline for receiving applications is 30th June.